CWPS-WISERD Co-Director appointed to Independent Commission on the Constitutional Future of Wales

Dr Anwen Elias

An expert on territorial and constitutional politics from Aberystwyth University has been appointed Commissioner to the new Independent Commission on the Constitutional Future of Wales.

Dr Anwen Elias, CWPS-WISERD Co-Director and Reader in Politics in the Department of International Politics, was among the nine appointed individuals announced by the Counsel General and Minister for the Constitution, Mick Antoniw MS, at the Senedd today.  

The new Independent Commission on the Constitutional Future of Wales has two broad objectives. 

Firstly, to consider and develop options for fundamental reform of the constitutional structures of the United Kingdom, in which Wales remains an integral part. 

Secondly, to consider and develop all progressive principal options to strengthen Welsh democracy and deliver improvements for the people of Wales.

Dr Elias’ research interests include comparative territorial and constitutional politics, political parties and deliberative democracy. She is Co-Director of the Centre for Welsh Politics and Society and the Wales Institute of Social and Economic Research and Data.

Responding to her appointment, Dr Elias said: “The Independent Commission has been established at a critical time in Welsh and UK politics. It’s an honour to be appointed to it, and I look forward to being able to contribute to its important work over the next two years.” 

Co-chaired by Professor Laura McAllister (Professor of Public Policy and the Governance of Wales at Cardiff University’s Wales Governance Centre) and the Right Reverend and Right Honourable Dr Rowan Williams, the Commission comprises members drawn from a broad range of political opinion and sections of Welsh society. 

The Commission is tasked with producing an interim report by the end of 2022, and a full report with recommendations by the end of 2023.

Read the Welsh Government announcement here.


Alice Earp, Communications and Public Affairs, Aberystwyth University


Department of International Politics